I’ll Turn You Into Poetry

Don’t get too close, I’ll turn you into poetry.

I’ll make a rhyme and a riddle of your insides. I’ll take the pain you’ve given to me, and I’ll romanticize the hurt. I’ll romanticize the screaming, the arguing, the ups and the downs. I’ll romanticize the space between our once intertwined fingertips- I’ll make anger and betrayal disguise themselves as love, as forgiveness.

I’ll make your brown eyes turn into a swirl of hazelnut sweetness. I’ll find an ocean in your smile. I’ll build you up and then I’ll break you down. I’ll describe all of your elements as if you are invincible… and then I’ll break you down to dust. Because it’s easy to turn you to a dessert of pointless particles, when in reality you are more.

In reality you are the most important piece to all of my puzzles. You have every single piece of me and don’t even know it. When you are dust you are merely nothing, but when you are a boy that hurt my heart; you are so much more.

You are a person that lives and breathes and everything in between-but I’ll make you out to be a coward. I’ll make you out to be a poison, a fire hazard, a red flashing light, a danger.

Don’t get too close, I’ll turn you into poetry. 

photo of people hugging each other
Photo by Flora Westbrook on Pexels.com

Leave a comment