An Ode To Art: Because It’s Saved My Life

An ode to art: because it’s saved my life.

An ode to the thistles of the brush I dip amongst my murky water:

An ode to the creativity that distracts from the sadness…from the overthinking, from the detrimental reality that is my heart.

An ode to art, because without it, the possibility of my body surrendering to restlessness would grow rapidly. 

Without art my nails would bleed from the predator that is my teeth.

Without art insanity would have captured me in it’s palms and teased me from my prison cell. 

Without art my bones would twitch out of their sockets and the rumbles of my mind would explode.

Without art my creativity would turn to ash, my self-identity would collapse. 

An ode to art: because it’s saved my life. 

both hands stained with paints
Photo by Lisa Fotios on Pexels.com

2 thoughts on “An Ode To Art: Because It’s Saved My Life

Leave a comment